Skip to content

A Liberal Gun Owner On Gun Control

February 4, 2013

If by some chance someone comes into my home intending harm, I want them to be surprised.  To this end I don’t talk much about being a gun owner and shooter.  I don’t protest gun laws or sticker my bumper.  I keep my cards close to my chest.  I have always believed in the gray man defense.
Many gun people will think this is treasonous, that I should be jumping and shouting and all that.  I think people who act that way are damned fools.
They are only giving anti gun people more ammunition, a loud, glaring demonstration of just how unstable and manic gun owners are, feeding their stereotypes.
If you dance around waving your rifles and bellowing slogans you are also showing serious people that you’re just another blowhard and nothing to worry about.  In addition you are showing anyone who might be so inclined where to go and find valuable firearms.
To be honest I don’t want an assault rifle either.  I don’t like them.  I first met the M16 when I was a seventeen year old boot and I didn’t like it, but so what?  That I dislike them has nothing to do with anyone else.  If you love black rifles, enjoy yourself.  Civilian versions of the last war’s weapon have always been popular.  Of course the question always is, “why do you need an assault rifle?” and I say this is beside the point.  We don’t really need speedboats and snowmobiles and in ground swimming pools either.  We want them and the sole question is whether we have the right to have them so or not.  Proving a need is irrelevant.  I’m not going to pretend that gun rights is the big deal in my life, but I must add that I am suspicious of a government that disarms its citizens.  And I resent the people who believe that American citizens aren’t to be trusted with firearms or, well, anything.
There is magical thinking involved, this being that if we could just get rid of those nasty old guns the sun will shine and flowers will bloom and all the children will join hands and sing happily.  Nonsense.  Some, on my beloved left, seem to think that just having a gun in the house will tempt one to commit bloody murder.  Nonsense squared.
The current panic resulting from the terrible school shooting does not lend itself to rational thinking of any kind, pro or con and the extremists on both sides of the argument often seem to care little for facts or common sense.
Using gun control to stop violence is like trying to end avalanches by legislating against rocks without regard to gravity and erosion.  It is avoiding the real problem and wasting time and energy.  The problem is the human tendency toward violence, human aggression and this is a complicated, subtle and devious enemy that will take a long time to conquer.  People, however, always want a quick fix even though these are rarely effective.  This quick fix won’t work either.  This will be a long, hard mental health effort and fooling around with nonsense won’t make it any easier.

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. lwk2431 permalink

    You wrote:

    “If by some chance someone comes into my home intending harm, I want them to be surprised. To this end I don’t talk much about being a gun owner and shooter. I don’t protest gun laws or sticker my bumper. I keep my cards close to my chest. I have always believed in the gray man defense.”

    For a liberal, you make a lot of sense there. Of course in my case the “cat is out of the bag” as my neighbors have seen me cleaning various “assault weapons” and reloading large quantities of ammunition in my garage. 🙂

    And wrote:

    “Of course the question always is, ‘why do you need an assault rifle?’ and I say this is beside the point. We don’t really need speedboats and snowmobiles and in ground swimming pools either.”

    A Bushmaster (or similar) AR-15 carbine with a folding stock is arguably the best possible weapon to use for home defense. My other “assault rifle” is an expensive target rifle used for High Power rifle competitions.

    My argument for “arguably best” is here:

    Who Needs An Assault Rifle?
    http://free2beinamerica2.wordpress.com/2012/12/19/who-needs-an-assault-rifle/

    lwk

  2. Gun control alone is certainly not enough.

Leave a Reply

