Skip to content

Don’t Care, Don’t Know

June 21, 2011

 

 

 

 

It just makes me tired the way everybody thinks they’re right and anybody thinking another way are wrong.

I do it myself of course and, on many questions, it’s pretty simple to pick a side and start pontificating, but I have to confess that I’ve not found a position on some arguments and some others just don’t seem very important to me.

Like this same sex marriage business.  I have to say I just don’t care.  It has nothing to do with me, it concerns others and I don’t know that I should be poking my nose in at all.  Two guys or girls want to have legal recognition of their union?  Well, fine by me.  I don’t see it as a problem, period.  Of course the R People argue that it challenges the institution of marriage and devalues it.  Frankly, I don’t see it.  If anything gay people wanting to be married strengthens the institution and I hold little regard for those who fear for their institutions.  Are they so weak?  By fearing for them you are the ones questioning them. Around here gay marriage hasn’t changed anything in my marriage, life, community.  Not one little thing.

Abortion is more difficult.  An abortion is an insanely horrible business.  It is Dark Ages stuff of savagery and dismemberment, the sort of thing that makes sensitive minds blank out in horror.  But it is also the woman’s body, her future, her life that must be considered.  While I can well make complaint over the treatment of the fetus, I don’t feel that I can mandate how a woman deals with her pregnancy, her life.

I am well aware of the hypocrisy evident here.  I worked over a decade in a Catholic hospital where abortions were banned, but they were also valued money-makers, so they just changed the name of the procedure and performed them on a regular basis.  Many fetal corpses burned in their holy incinerator.  And the pro life people are less than forthcoming on their plans for the saved childrens’ futures.  But I can’t get over the brutality.  I can find no good answer to this question and must just say, “I don’t know.”

Is there anyone else out there who doesn’t care or doesn’t know?  People without easy answers still trying to figure out where they stand?  I think such comments might be even more interesting than the know-it-all rants.

Just wondering.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

